CITY OF MARSHALL BUDGET WORK SESSION M I N U T E S

Tuesday, November 23, 2021

The work session of the Common Council of the City of Marshall was held November 23, 2021, at City Hall, 344 West Main Street. The meeting was called to order at 8:00 P.M. by Mayor Robert Byrnes. In addition to Byrnes the following members were in attendance: Craig Schafer, Steve Meister, Don Edblom, John DeCramer, Russ Labat, and James Lozinski. Absent: None. Staff present included: Sharon Hanson, City Administrator; Dennis Simpson, City Attorney; Jason Anderson, Director of Public Works/ City Engineer; Annette Storm, Director of Administrative Services and Kyle Box, City Clerk.

2022 Budget & Proposed Final Levy Discussion and 2022 Capital Budget Discussion.

City Administrator Sharon Hanson provided an overview of the 2022 Levy via PowerPoint. Administrator Hanson discussed the 2022 levy impacts, levy history, tax abatements, debt reduction schedule and compared tax percentages at the City and County level.

Director of Administrative Services Annette Storm provided additional discussion on 2022 levy reductions including the savings from health insurance and agreement with Enterprise Fleet Management.

There was further discussion by the Council on adding an additional Street Department Employee for 2022. Mayor Byrnes and Members Meister, DeCramer, Lozinski, Schafer, and Edblom agreed to increase the levy to 4.3%, keep the funding in the levy from the street department employee and fill the position at a later date in 2022. Member Labat favored a 3.28% level increase thinking of 2023 levy impacts.

Staff presented two different capital reports. Director of Administrative Services also provided an overview for options to reduce the bonding levy impact for 2023 and have the Council discuss where the final capital levy for 2022 should be set.

There was a consensus from the Council to keep bonding around \$1.6 million to help with the 2023 bonding amounts.

The final adoption of the 2022 levy is scheduled for the regular council meeting on December 14th following the TNT item.

Adjourn

At 8:52, P.M., Motion made by Councilmember Meister, Seconded by Councilmember Lozinski to adjourn. Voting Yea: Mayor Byrnes, Councilmember Schafer, Councilmember Meister, Councilmember Edblom, Councilmember DeCramer, Councilmember Labat, Councilmember Lozinski. The motion **Carried. 7-0**

Attest:	Mayor
City Clerk	